Instagram #leucate

Leucate a whole history !

A rich past still visible !
Watch video

The memory of Leucate can be seen in its narrow streets, the remains of the castle and the redoubts, but also its historical figures, who are still very present!

Leucate comes from the Greek Leukos meaning white, Laucata in Occitan! From the old border with the Kingdom of Aragon to the new resort of the Projet Racine, there is only one step! Follow us!

The Castle of Leucate

Leucate became a peninsula, a city in the medieval, an breathtaking fortress in the Renaissance, and its geographical situation made it a special observation post for the enemy coming from Aragon and Spain.

From the castle of Leucate you can see first the pond, then the Mediterranean, the Canigou and the Albères mountain range.

For five century, the stronghold of Leucate served as a privileged observation point and guardian of the border between the kingdoms of France and Aragon. The signing of the Treaty of the Pyrenees in 1659 we’ll put the end of the castle of Leucate, which was shaved to the ground by order of Louis XIV.

Nowadays, it is the best place to enjoy the sunset over the pond !

Missing video title
Missing video caption

Françoise de Cezelly

Françoise de Cezelly is the heroine of Leucate, the one who sacrificed her husband to save the town from the onslaught of the Spaniards when the town was taken in 1590.

His statue has been enthroned on the Place de la République since 2007. The original statue was dismantled during the Occupation in order to recover the bronze, but its exact replica can now be seen in the Château

Here lived Françoise de Cezelly, appointed governor in 1590 for the king of the Place de Leucate whom she had heroically defended and guarded. Refusing to return her in exchange for her husband’s life as a prisoner

In memory of Françoise de Cezelly

La Redoute de la Haute Franqui

La Redoute de la Haute Franqui built under the reign of Louis XIV is the last remnant of the three forts which used to protect Leucate Coasts.


The cliff and the limestone of Leucate were also used as a base by German soldiers during the Second World War, as evidenced by the bunkers and tunnels still visible.

Discover La Franqui

Henry de Monfreid

Henry de Monfreid, sea ​​traveler, adventurer and writer, the child of the country built his house, La Boîte à sel, in La Franqui, his home and heart port. He spent his childhood in his mother’s family home, still visible on the heights of La Franqui : La Villa Amélie.

He was born in Leucate on 14th November 1879, he set the scene for novels about his mysterious life of travel and discovery.

Port Leucate

Birth of a resort

The station was created as part of La Mission Racine in the 1960s. The aim of this mission was to expand tourism on the Languedoc coast and to prevent holidaymakers from fleeing to Spain.

This state mission, led by Charles de Gaulle and his Prime Minister Georges Pompidou, allowed the development of nearly 200km of fine sand on the Mediterranean coast.

For this mission, Pierre Racine worked with several architects including Georges Candilis, who designed the architecture of the Carrats de Port Leucate, inspired by Greece.

Nos suggestions